Black Hills 100

The Centennial Trail was officially opened in June 1989, in commemoration of the South Dakota centennial anniversary. the 111-mile Centennial Trail traverses through the diverse environments of South Dakota.  The Trail crosses prairie grasslands and climbs into the Black Hills high country, skirting lakes and streams. The trail is marked with a combination of brown fiberglass posts and gray diamonds fastened to trees.

Since 2011, the Black Hills 100 has pitted runners against the terrain. And…. coming the June, I will be one of those runners. It is totally crazy to think that I will be running my first 100-mile race in 2021. For several years now, I have dreamed of trying an ultra. Why? So much thought and emotion has been wrapped up in the idea that it is difficult to convey the fullness of it all without sounding completely nuts.

Running over the past eleven years has been many things to me, though not all at the same time. To loose weight, to be healthy, to find peace, to find connection, to explore, to learn, to push my limits, to be. With some success, I have run several marathons and road and trail races. I have pushed some of my limits, facing the dreaded wall at mile 21. But that was before 2020.

When discussing this with my wife and Crew Chief, we discussed the “Why” of now. My voice said “I’m not getting any younger.” but- I wanted that phrase to cover much, much more meaning that what it could convey. One thing that 2020 has showed me is that life is precious. I have known people who have contracted COVID and not survived. They lived extraordinary lives, using their talents and gifts to make the world a better place. Running makes me tick and while Im not necessarily an exceptional runner, it seems to be something that has inspired others. We all have different ways to leave the world a better place and somehow running in an ultra seems the next faithful step.

My family has been amazingly supportive of my endeavor. With the gravity of the task ahead, my 100-miler (actually 105-miler) has become a family endeavor. Moving forward, my training plan has rested on advise from those who have run ultras before. Feel free to drop a note of encouragement or, if you have it, sage advice. I appreciate any help on this new, exciting, and somewhat daunting journey!


I hope the sun brings you new energy by day, the moon softly restore you by night. May the rain wash away your worries, may the breeze blow new strength into your being, may you walk gently through the world and know it’s beauty all the days of your life.

If you enjoyed this post and want to see more like it, clicking the subscribe button is the easiest way to stay up to date.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.